CONFIRMED: Akufo-Addo Wants GES To Recall 14 Dismissed WASSCE Students

Listen To Article

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has directed the Minister of Education, Matthew Opoku-Prempeh, to engage the Ghana Education Service (GES) to reconsider the punishment meted out to 14 Senior High School students taking the 2020 West Africa Senior School Examination (WASSCE).

The GES last week dismissed the 14 final year students who took part in chaos and destruction of properties in their schools after the Integrated Science 2 paper of the ongoing WASSCE.

They were also banned from taking the rest of the papers in the final year examination.

Sexual Boakye

The GES in a statement said the punishment was to serve as a deterrent to other students who are still partaking in the exams.

But a statement issued on Sunday, August 9, 2020, by the Director of Communications at the Office of the President, Eugene Arhin, said even though the acts of indiscipline by the students are intolerable, the President is of the view that the dismissal alone is enough punishment.

“The President believes that everyone deserves a second chance in life, and is thus, hopeful that the students will be allowed by the GES to take their final examinations as scheduled,” the statement explained.

Before the statement from the Presidency on Sunday, various institutions and individuals, including a former Deputy Minister for Education, Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa, had said the GES was too harsh in the punishment given to 14 students.

The National Democratic Congress MP for North Tongu said although the acts of indiscipline and vandalism are condemnable, the GES seems to have killed an ant with a sledgehammer.

Below are the affected students

  1. Nicholas Cobbinah` – Sekondi College
  2. Kardimell Suapim- Sekondi College
  3. John Kwofie- Sekondi College
  4. Simon Ameyibor (Senior Prefect) – Tweneboah Koduah SHS
  5. Thomas Anokye – Tweneboah Koduah SHS
  6. Juliet Amoakowaa – Tweneboah Koduah SHS
  7. Emmanuel Ashiangmor – Battor SHS
  8. Peter Sissi – Battor SHS
  9. Ameka Nyamiitse – Battor SHS
  10. Shadrack Daitey – Battor SHS
  11. Alfred Attiso – Battor SHS
  12. Solomon Brako – Juaben SHS
  13. Albert Agyekum – Juaben SHS
  14. Robert  Inkoom – Juaben SHS







Latest News In Ghana. Click Here To Read Our Latest News Stories


My News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website. Read our disclaimer.

Send Your News Stories and General Inquiries to or Whatsapp: 0576270779


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button