EC registers 12,371,651 potential voters nationwide

Listen To Article

The Electoral Commission (EC) says as at Sunday, July 26, 2020, a total number of 12,371,651 prospective voters had been successfully registered nationwide.

According to the Commission, the above figure represents 82.5% of our expected target of 15 million.

It also indicated that
as at the end of the fourth phase of the voters registration exercise on Friday, July 24, 2020, it had registered at least 11,629,480 prospective voters.

Chairperson of the EC, Jean Mensa, announced this to the media at the Let The Citizen Know press conference in Accra on Monday, July 27, 2020.

She noted that at the end of the fourth phase, the Greater Accra Region had the highest number of registrants; totaling 2,615,925.

According to her, the Ashanti Region came second with a total of 2,089,923 and the Eastern Region came third with a total of 1,084,734).

“After this we had the Central Region with 1 million 74 thousand 519 (1,074,519) people, the Western Region with 734 thousand 545 (734,545) people, the Northern Region with 687 thousand 123 people (687,123), the Volta Region with 660 thousand 508 (660,508) people, the Bono Region with 460 thousand 226 people (460,226), the Upper East Region with 409 thousand 825 people (409,825), the Bono East Region with 391 thousand 777 people (391,777), the Western North Region had 300 thousand 15 people (300,015), the Upper West Region 299 thousand 480 people (299,480), the Oti Region with 226 thousand 109 people (226,109), the Ahafo Region with 212 thousand 670 people (212,670), the Savannah Region with 195 thousand 126 people (195,126), and finally the North East Region with 186 thousand 975 people (186,975),” she added.




My News Ghana is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website. Read our disclaimer.

Send Your News Stories and General Inquiries to or Whatsapp: 0576270779

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button