IGP moves 91 officers, new Commanders to be named next week


Some 91 uniformed senior officers of the Ghana Police Service and many in the Criminal Investigations Department (CID) are moving to new offices in a massive shake-up ordered by the Inspector General of Police (IGP), David Asante-Apeatu.

A source in the Police hinted that the transfer is strategic, and in some cases involves officers who have been at their current locations for so many years.

The transfers have nothing to do with Thursday’s aagbewoo’ demonstration organized by the National Democratic Congress (NDC).

The shake-up has affected four Deputy Commissioners of Police, seven Assistant Commissioners of Police, 17 Chief Superintendents of Police, 15 Deputy Superintendents of Police, 25 Superintendents, and 20 Assistant Superintendents of Police.

DCOP/Mr. Osei Asibey Ahenkan, i/c Kibi Division goes to the MTTD as Deputy Director General in Accra, while DCOP/Mr. Moses Asabagna Atibillah, i/c Dansoman Division heads the Inspectorate Unit at the National Headquarters, Accra.

ACP/Mr. Afful Boakye-Yiadom, i/c Obuasi Division, moves to Brong Ahafo Region as 2i/c Brong Ahafo Region, while ACP/Mr. David Agyemang Adjem, i/c Kasoa Division heads for Baatsona Division as the i/c.

ACP/Mr. Peter Baba Atianak, Regional Crime Officer Ashanti moves to Donkorkrom as the i/c, while ACP/Mr. Emmanuel Twumasi Ankrah i/c Techiman Division goes to Kibi as the Divisional Commander.

ACP/Mr. Laar Barman, i/c Ejisu Division goes to head the Weija Division.

With the announcement for the new regional capitals and takeoff of these administrative divisions expected early next week, the IGP would make fresh appointments of regional commanders and the accompanying officers such as regional crime officers and 2i/cs.

Please send us your articles for publication via [email protected]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here