Video: Watch how NPP emerge as Majority in 8th Parliament

Video: Watch how NPP emerge as Majority in 8th Parliament

Listen To Article

The Speaker of Parliament, Mr Alban S.K. Bagbin has declared the New Patriotic Party (NPP) and the Independent Member of Parliament (MP) for Fomena caucus, as the majority group in Parliament.
That came after Mr Bagbin had read the official letter from the Fomena Independent MP, Andrew Asiamah Amoako declaring to do business, associate and collaborate with the NPP side in the 8th Parliament

Whilst the NPP members sang in response to the Speaker’s ruling, Alhassan Suhuyini from the NDC side reacted and said, “you are desperate indeed, you were desperate for a win indeed…, is that all, you were desperate indeed.

The Speaker of Parliament’s ruling came during Friday’s sitting of the House [Jan 15, 2021]. It was the second time the House was meeting after its inauguration on January 7, 2021.

Some members from the NPP side arrived as early as 4am to take their seats on the right side of the Speaker which by convention in the House is reserved for the majority side.

During the inauguration on Jan 7, 2021, the National Democratic Congress (NDC) members arrived early in the chamber and occupied the seats on the right side of the Speaker with the explanation that, both sides – NPP and NDC – had 137 seats with one independent member in the 275-member House, hence no side could claim majority before the House was inaugurated

Send Your Stories to email: or Whatsapp: 0576270779

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button